Posted on Leave a comment

Asia Cup 2022 in Srilanka

Asia Cup 2022 To Be Held In Sri Lanka From August 27, Will Be In T20 Format

Last time Asia cup champions πŸ†πŸ†πŸ† INDIA

The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) on Saturday announced that the upcoming edition of the Asia Cup will be held later this year from August 27 to September 11. The tournament will be played in the T20 format while the qualifiers for the same will begin from August 20. “The Asia Cup 2022 (T20 Format) will be held in Sri Lanka from 27 August – 11 September later this year. The Qualifiers for the same will be played 20 August 2022 onwards,” the ACC said in an official statement.

The Asia Cup is held every two years but the 2020 edition of the tournament was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Since the inception of the tournament in 1984, India remain the most successful side in the history of the Asia Cup, winning seven of the 14 editions so far, including the last two editions (1984, 1988, 1990/91, 1995, 2010, 2016 and 2018).

Asia Cup

During the last edition of the tournament, Rohit-Sharma led Team India defeated Bangladesh in the final in Dubai.

The upcoming edition of the Asia Cup will only be the second occasion when the tournament will be played in the T20 format.

The 2016 edition was also played in the T20 format, with India beating Bangladesh in the final in Dhaka.

Meanwhile, the Indian players are currently gearing up for the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

IPL 2022 starts Saturday, March 26, with defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) facing Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the opening match of the tournament.

The Asian Cricket Council Asia Cup is a men’s One Day International and Twenty20 International cricket tournament. It was established in 1983 when the Asian Cricket Council was founded as a measure to promote goodwill between Asian countries. It was originally scheduled to be held every two years. The Asia Cup is the only continental championship in cricket and the winning team becomes the champions of Asia. It alternates every 2-years between ODI and T20 formats.


Year Format Winner Runners-up Host
1984 ODI India Sri Lanka UAE
1986 ODI Sri Lanka Pakistan SriLanka
1988 ODI India Sri Lanka Bangladesh
1990 ODI India Sri Lanka India
1995 ODI India Sri Lanka UAE
1997 ODI Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2000 ODI Pakistan Sri Lanka Bangladesh
2004 ODI Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2008 ODI Sri Lanka India Pakistan
2010 ODI India Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
2012 ODI Pakistan Bangladesh Bangladesh
2014 ODI Sri Lanka Pakistan Bangladesh
2016 T20 India Bangladesh Bangladesh
2018 ODI India Bangladesh UAE

Winners and Runners List

The ACC Asia Cup is the Men’s tournament in International cricket in order to decide the champion team among the Asian countries. It was established in 1983 when the Asian Cricket Council was formed to promote goodwill between the Asian nations. Currently, Asia Cup is the only continental championship in cricket. It is played either in ODI or the T20I format in a gap of two years. In this article, we will be listing out the winners of each edition of the Asia Cup.

The first edition of the Asia Cup was hosted by UAE in 1984. The tournament was in the round-robin format with India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan taking part in it. India won this edition with two victories, while Sri Lanka ended up as the runners-up. The second edition held in Sri Lanka in 1986 was won by the hosts. Later in 1988, the tournament was held in Bangladesh, and this time, India won their second title defeating Sri Lanka in the final.

India came back to winning ways in 2010 when they registered an 81-run victory against the Sri Lankan team in the final. The 2012 edition saw Bangladesh and Pakistan clash in the final with the latter emerging as a winner with a thriller win by 2 runs. In 2014 final, Sri Lanka defeated Pakistan by 5 wickets to win their fifth title. Asia Cup was organised in T20I format for the first time in 2016 where India emerged victoriously. They retained their title in the 2018

Leave a Reply